Welcome to the Alzheimer's and Dementia Course Guide!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Alzheimer's and Dementia

This guide will navigate you to the best resources on Alzheimer's and dementia care.

Student Resources contains databases and e-books which are accessible with your WITC credentials.

Community Resources contains links to trusted websites that are available to everyone.

APA Help links to our guide on APA formatting.

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer-oriented health content, from mainstream to holistic medicine.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides full text of journals, books and other published humanities sources from around the world.

Dementia-Friendly Worship by Virginia Biggar (Editor); Lynda Everman (Editor); Steven M. Glazer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785926662
Publication Date: 2019-06-21
This handbook by 45 different authors represents diverse faith traditions, including Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, Buddhism and Native American. It provides practical help in developing services and creating dementia friendly faith communities.
Designing and Delivering Dementia Services by Hugo de Waal (Editor); Constantine Lyketsos (Editor); David Ames (Editor); John O'Brien (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118378687
Publication Date: 2013-05-03
This book provides pragmatic approaches to ensure planning becomes reality, highlights the need for structured workforce development, and describes the opportunities afforded by assistive technology. Contributions from 17 countries give an overview of the state of affairs across the world.
Practical Nutrition and Hydration for Dementia-Friendly Mealtimes by Lee Martin
ISBN: 9781784502218
Publication Date: 2019-01-21
Presenting simple and cost-effective solutions for maintaining and improving mealtime abilities, this book discusses the practical aspects of eating and drinking as part of person-centred dementia care.

BadgerLink This link opens in a new window
Wisconsin's Online Library, providing Wisconsin residents with licensed content not available through regular search engines.
WISCAL This link opens in a new window
eBooks purchased and owned by the Learning Resource Center at WITC. A platform shared with other Technical Colleges of Wisconsin.
ebrary This link opens in a new window
Over 37,000 eBooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools. To use ebrary, you will set up a personal (no-cost) account and download a free version of Adobe Digital Editions on your device.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand gives faculty and students instant access to thousands of videos neatly grouped into convenient subject-specific categories.

Kanopy
Video database with access to thousands documentaries and features films across all subjects and genres.