Back to Course Guides

Welcome to the Death and Dying Course Guide!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Death and Dying

This guide will navigate you to the best resources on the topics of death and dying.

Student Resources contains databases, e-books, and books which are accessible with your WITC credentials.

APA Help links to our guide on APA formatting.

Online Catalogs

WITC has two online collections of books available for your class. Please use them to complete your book report assignment.

When prompted with a login, please use the same information that you would for Blackboard.

ebrary This link opens in a new window
TIP: Internationally noted grief counselor Alan Wolfelt has multiple books available on eBrary. Search his name to locate them.
WISCAL This link opens in a new window
TIP: Good search terms include "death," "grief," "end of life," and "hospice." You may also wish to go to Subjects and browse results available for Sociology.

E-Books

The following are examples of the books you will discover at eBrary and WISCAL.

When prompted with a login, please use the same information that you would for Blackboard.

TIP: Right-click on the links and select "Open link in new tab" in order to keep this Course Guide open in your browser.

Spirituality and Hospice Social Work by Ann M. Callahan
ISBN: 9780231543187
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
Many hospice social workers must address spiritual issues with their clients, but do not feel competent to do so effectively. This targeted volume draws upon multidisciplinary theory and research to advance a relational model of spiritually sensitive hospice care.
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande
ISBN: 9781627790550
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
Full of eye-opening research and riveting storytelling, Being Mortal asserts that medicine can comfort and enhance our experience even to the end, providing not only a good life but also a good end.
From Here to Eternity by Caitlin Doughty; Landis Blair (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780393249903
Publication Date: 2017-10-03
Fascinated by our pervasive fear of dead bodies, mortician Caitlin Doughty embarks on a global expedition to investigate the world's funerary customs and expands our sense of what it means to treat the dead with dignity.
Prelude to Hospice by Emily K. Abel
ISBN: 9780813593937
Publication Date: 2018-05-30
Hospices have played a critical role in transforming ideas about death and dying. Viewing death as a natural event, hospices seek to enable people approaching mortality to live as fully and painlessly as possible. Award-winning medical historian Emily K. Abel provides insight into several important issues surrounding the growth of hospice care.
Dying in the Twenty-First Century by Lydia S. Dugdale (Editor)
ISBN: 9780262328579
Publication Date: 2015-05-29
In this book, physicians, philosophers, and theologians attempt to articulate a bioethical framework for dying well in a secularized, diverse society. Contributors discuss such topics as the acceptance of human finitude; the role of hospice and palliative medicine; spiritual preparation for death; and the relationship between community, and individual autonomy.

Key Online Resources

Databases

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer-oriented health content, from mainstream to holistic medicine.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides full text of journals, books and other published humanities sources from around the world.

Death and Dying: Student Resources